DRIVER'S SAFETY COURSE

IMPORTANT NOTICE:  The Driver's Safety Course option for Defendants with a Speeding in School Zone ticket must pay $25.00 more.  The court costs and administrative fees for this violation are $169.00.

Under state law, a defendant charged with a moving traffic violation may be eligible to take a driving safety course in order to have the ticket dismissed. If a ticket is dismissed under this provision, it will not appear as a conviction on the driving record and should not affect insurance premiums.

Eligibility

In order to take a driving safety course, a defendant must:

  1. Request permission from the Court and pay the applicable court costs and administrative fees;
  2. Not have taken a driving safety course 12 months prior to the date of the citation;
  3. Must enter a plea of no contest or guilty; 
  4. Present a valid Texas driver’s license; 
  5. Present valid insurance with the defendant’s name on the policy;
  6. FOR CITATIONS RECEIVED AFTER JANUARY 1, 2020:  Pay $144 in applicable State court costs and administrative fees ($169 if offense was in a school zone).

Defendants 16 years of age or younger must make a formal court appearance with a parent or legal guardian in order to request permission to take a driving safety course.

Not all Violations are Eligible

 A driver will not be eligible to have a charge dismissed by completing a driving safety course if:

  • The alleged moving violation occurred in a construction zone with workers present;
  • The alleged speed is 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit;
  • The alleged violation is passing a school bus while loading or unloading students; or
  • The driver holds a commercial driver’s license.

How to Request a Driving Safety Course

The following documentation is required in order to request a driving safety course:

  • Insurance card showing defendant’s name as a covered driver on the policy
  • Defendant’s valid Texas Driver’s License (no CDLs)

Requesting a Drivers Safety Course online

Download online detailed instructions for signing-up for your Driver's Safety Course here. Your Texas Driver's License and your proof of insurance (naming the defendant as an insured driver) must be uploaded.  You will be prompted to pay the fees.  Once these steps are completed, you will receive an email confirmation from the court on the next business day.

Requesting a Drivers Safety Course by Mail

Copies of all documents must be sent to:

Spring Valley Municipal Court
1025 Campbell Rd.
Houston, TX 77055-7495

Documentation must be postmarked/received by the court prior to the court date on the citation in order to be eligible.

 
Requesting a Drivers Safety Course in-person  

Present insurance and driver's license at the court's lobby window and pay the court fees.  (If the request is not made by the hearing date on the citation, the defendant may have to appear in court to request the option to take the course.)


After Completing the Driving Safety Course

The original certificate of completion from the course and the defendant’s original driving record (type 3A) must be submitted together to the court in person; emailed to MunicipalCourt@SpringValleyTX.com; or mailed to the court (see address above).

Failure to take the course and/or turn in the documents by the due date may result in a conviction and additional fines and fees will be due.